Fried, Processed & Packaged, Oh My!

While doing some research for my case study on Extension work in Missouri I came across some interesting info. In 1923 agents did a nutrition survey in grade schools and found that 48% of children were UNDER weight. The children were required to drink two glasses of milk each day with bread and butter sandwiches and they gained 1-5 lbs in a week.  (Hmmm… perhaps a clue about what sugar does to the body…).

These days the nutritionist spends her time educate the kids about that a veggie is… a veggie, really?! She also spends more time targeting the children in schools because they are more likely to educate the parent. Many of the children she’s worked with never tasted fresh carrots, or enjoyed a salad as a meal.  Amazing how things have changed.

The changing times became even more obvious as I watched an episode from Anthony Bourdain’s No Reservations. It was an episode filmed in the UK.  Some of the commentary was about how there was such a bad reputation across the UK about food. He made an interesting point that over the years food had become fried, commercialized, processed, and packaged for convenience. He questioned if this was the pivotal point in all modern societies when things start to break down – trading in convenience over fresh food and then losing ourselves to obesity and a mountain of other calamities.

I’m by no means one of those health store people that only eats organic, gluten-free, no gmo, no-whatever food.  But I do think that many of our modern issues are tied to our lifestyles, so I am glad to see healthy choices hitting the mainstream marketplace.

I’ve worked hard over the past year to make the foundation of my lifestyle about water, veggies, and activity.  This doesn’t mean I don’t eat chocolate or imbibe in adult beverages.  It means I try to incorporate better nutritional quality into my indulgences.

A greek salad with chicken for dinner and some 90% cocoa chocolate for dessert take me a lot further than fried chicken, mashed potatoes and pie used to.  My blood sugar is down, I don’t feel like the Stay-Puft Marshmallow Man, my skin is more clear, and I feel less sluggish overall.

I do fully believe that what you use as fuel in any machine affects performance and the output of work produced.  When you are eating fried, processed crap as your general diet what is the likelihood that you are going to be at optimal mental and physical performance?

I’d love to hear your thoughts!

-Miss B

